OMG! The Panty Dropper

Hey My Perfume Samples Crew,

It’s Portia from Australian Perfume Junkies, Perfume Posse and Olfactoria’s Travels and thrilled to be writing for one of my favourite Perfume Sample Sites. Over the next few months I hope to bring you some great information, maybe some ideas that you can use in your daily life, a selection of my favourite fragrances from the site and great ways and times to wear them.

If you like the look of something click the My Perfume Samples below the picture, it will take you directly to that perfumes page for more information, pricing and ordering.

OMG! The Panty Dropper

OMG! The Panty Dropper

OK, so today I thought we’d go for some extremely tongue in cheek sexy frags, personally I think anyone who speaks of Panty Dropper Perfumes seriously is probably a misogynist and the only pants that get dropped are probably their own, alone. Thinking that by spritzing yourself with a fragrance will lead people to you and force them to have sex with you when it would normally be against their will is juvenile and yucky, go and wash your mind out with antiseptic soap.

Having said that I am 100% sure that smelling right can be a great help in MEETING people that you might like to have in your life for a moment or a while. Back in the good old days I used to follow men around in bars just to swim in the sillage of their Le Male and at different points in my life if you were wearing Tuscany, L’eau d’Issey or Obsession then you would much more readily get my attention. Maybe we need to change the vocabulary so it doesn’t seem like you are wearing fragrance to commit a hate crime, let’s make it sound like something that really could lead to love. What about Interest Enhancers, Attention Getters, Promoters or Siren Calls? Naah, still too desperate sounding. Joiners? Sparkers? Connectors? That sounds cool and equal interest. OK, for today let’s call them Connector Scents. Once you’ve made the connection, you still have to have a correlating set of attractive-to-that-person traits and the ability to hold a decent conversation to get you anything else that might be on your mind. I’ll give you a couple of hints people, if in our first 24 hours of meeting you are mean spirited, speak with your mouth full or have poor hygiene than we probably won’t be continuing.

Body Kouros by Yves Saint Laurent MPSPhoto My Perfume Samples

Body Kouros by Yves Saint Laurent: The original was ubiquitous in clubs in the 1980s and I admit that I too adored it. A screaming hit of masculinity that often dwarfed its wearer. Body Kouros has all the sex appeal of its father but does it subtly and without fanfare. One of the few fragrances to use eucalyptus and pairing it with incense creates a dreamy waft of masculinity poured over fresh hewn woods and resins. It’s very rare for me to classify a fragrance into sex brackets but I can’t even imagine a woman wearing Body Kouros, though I’d love to smell it. A bewitching scent that will definitely help with connecting.

Cartier Essence D'Orange by Cartier MPSPhoto My Perfume Samples

Cartier Essence D’Orange by Cartier: Want to smell fresh and fun, light and interesting? Cartier have put together a lovely cologne style scent that has a citrus clean zing right through its life but as it ages it adds the interest of woods and a hint of smoke. Want to smell really good but not at a high octane level? Don’t need to overtake the world with your scent but only have those close to you lean in a little closer? Want the connection with someone already in your circle or want it to happen at work? Cartier Essence D’Orange is a really good choice.

Fleur Du Male by Jean Paul Gaultier MPSPhoto My Perfume Samples

Fleur Du Male by Jean Paul Gaultier: Citrus with a herbal blast that is simple yet somehow manages to smell really complex. Here is a fragrance for the thinkers among you, a clever mans fragrance that is so left of center that it will ultimately invite attention. A male marketed orange blossom, beefed up by basil and chamomile and though no one mentions it I get sweet vanilla and sensual musks too. Jean Paul Gaultier is famous for making excellent and unusual fragrance, Fleur du Male is no exception and it smells beautiful on the ladies too.

Musc Ravageur by Frederic Malle MPSPhoto My Perfume Samples

Musc Ravageur by Frederic Malle: Want to smell like a beast in the jungle, a crazy sensual animal lover that is powerful and wildly attractive? Musc Ravageur is all that and a furry teddy bear too. Juggling the very interesting polarities of fierce and protective with warm and comforting I love to smell this on the guys and girls. It is intense and alluring and with a fun attitude or winning smile it will be a great under the radar connector. Stealth allure!

Premier Figuier by L'Artisan Parfumeur MPSPhoto My Perfume Samples

Premier Figuier by L’Artisan Parfumeur: Sweet, milky, delicious dreams of fig. Not just the fruit or jam made from the fruit but the leaf and branch as well. Here is a daring scent for both sexes that combines citrus, woods, coconut and fig. A creamy smooth scent that is almost mouth watering and mixed with a fun attitude and a little bit of dance floor sweat is very, very sexy. Another upside is that you will smell a little different to most others around.

Samsara by Guerlain MPSPhoto My Perfume Samples

Samsara by Guerlain: Another incredible inviting fragrance aimed at women but also killer on the guys. Ylang ylang, citrus, sandalwood and amber built in the most lavish and spellbinding way. Lasting power is excellent and projection superb. Need to stand out from the crowd and smell really good into the wee morning hours. This is your pick then. Go ahead, spritz with abandon, people will be following in your wake just to swim in your sillage.

Tabarome by Creed MPSPhoto My Perfume Samples

Tabarome by Creed: Here is my favourite of the Creed stable, a crisp zesty opening leads to spicy ginger and then the whole lot is engulfed in leather and sweet honeyed tobacco. Want to smell like a modern incarnation of a ranch hand? In my imagination this is what a cowboy smells like, but a Wall Street cowboy. A person who is on the rise or risen, who commands themselves and thus others, someone who is solid and dependable but who hides a wild side. Smells excellent on the gents but ladies take my advice, this one is so freaking amazing on you too.

Terre d'Hermes Parfum by Hermes MPSPhoto My Perfume Samples

Terre d’Hermes Parfum by Hermes: Citrus and earth, add to this the smell of confidence and you have a killer combination. Terre d’Hermes smells subtly different on everyone and I have never tried it on any of my friends and had it smell less than gorgeous. Marketed for men but on the ladies it is equally as lovely. Excellent projection too, even though it’s not a big scent, you will be noticed.

Xs by Paco Rabanne MPSPhoto My Perfume Samples

 

XS by Paco Rabanne: This killer fragrance from 1993 flew under my radar for over a decade, then somewhere in the mid 2000s I smelled it on 6 or 7 people in a very short space of time and commented positively. It was uncanny. Maybe they did a reformulation that suddenly clicked with me. Whatever happened nowadays I can pick XS out from a crowd and still love to smell it wafting past me in the street. It’s fresh spicy woodsiness all melts perfectly over a deep fluffy, cuddleworthy bed of vanilla & musk.

mps15

 

 

Add code “MPS15” within your Shopping Cart to receive 15% off of your order. Only valid on one order and not combinable with other promotions.

This is a blog so I hope you get involved and take the time to comment, ask questions and generally become a part of the action.
Waft on my lovelies,
Portia xx

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to OMG! The Panty Dropper

  1. Azar says:

    Hi Portia,
    What a great list of “connectors scents”! I know a few of these quite well and will check out some of the others very soon.
    Azar xxx

  2. Deb says:

    Hmmm…I’d suggest Tango by Masque of Milano. Serious connector frag!

  3. carlos319 says:

    This was great! Enjoyed it immensely

  4. ericagolding says:

    Connector Scents – I love it! I’m glad you are attracted to a variety of genres when you think of sexy fragrances. It doesn’t need to be musky or intense to be attractive! My favorite on a man is CdG Vettiveru, and it’s a relatively bright and fresh scent (although not exactly innocent, hehe). Awesome piece, really enjoyed reading this Portia!

  5. Tara says:

    Fab and thoughtful list Portia. Will have to check out Essence d’Orange and love Terre d’Hermes on the fellas.

  6. Erica,
    Thank you for jumping across. It’s really great to see you here.
    CdG Vetiveru you say?
    I’ll try it…
    Portia xx

  7. Pingback: OMG! The Panty Dropper « AustralianPerfumeJunkies

  8. Lyubov says:

    Totally agree with all the frags, I only don’t know Tabarome. Terre d’Hermes worked for me (sprayed on me) quite well several times, though in an edt concentration. I can add three more that I found really flattering: Happy Heart (Clinique) made me a catch to men, while Agent Provocateur edp and Midnight Oud (JHAG) seemed to flirt with women’s noses!

  9. Fifi says:

    Great post Portia! I loved the original Kouros, bought it once for a boy toy in another life. Ahhh. These days, Terre d’Hermes is a favorite and the others you mentioned will be fun to try. It’s Memorial Day weekend in the States, hope you are having a nice weekend in Oz.
    Much aloha,
    Fifi

  10. Tim says:

    Hi Portia,
    Panty Dropper!!! Love it!
    Love the article and the perfumes mentioned. I think Terre d’Hermes is really sexy on anyone.
    I have tried most of the others but can’t recall what they smell like right now. Silly me.
    The scent I find sexy are Musc Nomade and Duel by Annick Goutal, Jubilation 25 by Amouage. I also agree with Lyubov’s mention of Agent Provocateur edp and Midnight Oud.
    Tim

  11. Lindaloo says:

    Excellent slap down of the “panty dropper” poster/poseur. “Connectors” is a much better choice. I love Samsara, but had never thought of it as a “connector.” I find it calming and uplifting at the same time. Come to think of it, that does sound like a good combo of characteristics to find in a mate.
    Keep up the great work here.

Leave a Comment!

